Sunday, April 10, 2016

Iceland - Hear Them Calling - Greta Salóme

promo cds
14 - 51 pts in semi 1

Greta Salóme is the winner of this years Söngvakeppnin final with the song Hear Them Calling, the English version of Raddirnar.
All songs were performed in Icelandic during the heats, but in the final the singers performed their song in the language as they would in Stockholm (if they won). 
This resulted in a final with five songs in English and one in Icelandic in the final.
Hear Them Calling is written by Greta Salóme herself. She also wrote the song Á Ný, performed by Elisábeth Ormslev, the only Icelandic language song in the final.

It's the second time Greta Salóme (Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir) is representing Iceland. In 2012 she performed Never Forget with Jónsi which ended 20th in the final in Baku.

2nd DRI
Hear Them Calling is released as a digital single track (for example here), the Icelandic version can be found on the album below.
The twelve competing Söngvakeppnin songs have been released on CD (Icelandic versions), but this year there are no karaoke versions included.
A digital six-track release has all the finalists in their final versions, see tracklists and details below.
A digital single has the English version and karaoke versions (released March 8 through Hands Up Music)

First promo has the Eurovision version and karaoke

Digital Release Image
Hear Them Calling - Eurovision version
- video, Stockholm 2CD
Hear Them Calling - Second English version
- digital single release
Hear Them Calling - First English version
- digital release Söngvakeppnin 2016 Úrslitalögin - The Finalists
Raddirnar - Icelandic
- CD Söngvakeppnin 2016
Hear Them Calling - Karaoke version (ESC version)
- on official karaoke album (digital release)
Hear Them Calling - Karaoke version (First english version)
- digital release
Raddirnar - Icelandic remix by Dusk
- various website incl. Greta's own. Not released commercially yet.

Söngvakeppnin í 30 ár
Iceland is celebrating 30 years of Eurovision this year.
A special edition of the yearly Söngvakeppni CD has been released.
It includes all the original Icelandic versions of the  entries of this years selection Söngvakeppnin Sjónvarpsins 2016 on the CD plus two DVDs with six episodes of "Árið Er".

The six shows feature the highlights of Icelands Eurovision selections.
More details (trackslist) below.
Then there's a 4-DVD box (pic right). I don't know the exact content of this set yet.
Icelandicmusic has three albums of audio tracks with live versions from 1986 to 2003.,

Links and sources
Special thanks to Jens
Greta Salomé FB
The DVD box at BeaRecords. and the CD/DVD
Árið Er FB has links to the shows for viewing.
Listen to the songs at RÚV's Söngvakeppni pages

Greta & Jónsi 2012 promo
Despite Iceland celebrating 30 years of Eurovision, Hear Them Calling is the country's 29th entry.
Check out mor about Icelands recent entries
2015 - Maria Olafs
2014 - Pollapönk
2013 - Eyþór Ingi
2012 - Greta Salomé and Jónsi
2011 - Sjonni's Friends
2010 - Hera Björk
2009 - Yohanna

Tracklist Söngvakeppni Sjónvarpsins 2016.
1. Alda Dís Arnardóttir - Augnablik
2. Elísabet Ormslev - Á ný
3. Hljómsveitin Eva- Ég sé þig
4. Pálmi Gunnarsson - Ég leiði þig heim
5. Ingólfur Þórarinsson - Fátækur námsmaður
6. Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir og Hjörtur Traustason - Hugur minn er
7. Sigga Eyrún - Kreisí
8. Karlotta Sigurðardóttir - Óstöðvandi
9. Erna Mist og Magnús Thorlacius - Ótöluð orð
10. Helgi Valur Ásgeirsson - Óvær
11. Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir - Raddirnar
12. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir og Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson - Spring yfir heiminn

2 DVD… Árið er.. Söngvakeppnin í 30 ár í tali, tónum og myndum. (30 years of Songcontest in words, sounds and images.)
1.  1986 - 1988
2.  1989 - 1992
3.  1993 - 1998
4.  1999 - 2005
5.  2006 - 2009
6.  2010 - 2015

Úrslitalögin - The Finalists
digital release has the six finalists with five songs in English:
1. Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir - Hear Them Calling
2. Erna Hrönn og Hjörtur Traustason - I Promised You Then
3. Karlotta Sigurðardóttir - Eye Of The Storm
4. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir og Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson - Ready To Break Free
5. Elísabet Ormslev - Á ný
6. Alda Dís - Now

No comments:

Post a Comment